I wish that I could put into words adequately what I’ve felt towards this lately. I’ve been busy, and had feelings of ambivalence towards my blog, because I didn’t have a good direction. I’m working on it, especially since some of the food related things that I’ve been making lately aren’t recipes that are to be shared. Mostly, because I’ve been developing recipes without exact measurements. :oops: But I do have pictures of some of things that I have been working on.

Thanks to my lovely friends Peef and Lo at Burp! Where Food Happens and Lisa of Milwaukee Reads, afforded me an awesome opportunity for catering for their event in honor of Banned Books week. Combined with a friend of mine, we were successful with this event! It was a great time and a lot of fun! (these amazing pictures, along with a few others were taken by my friend Joe from Eating Milwaukee!)

DSC_0054

Peef, Lo and myself. Obviously, Joe was being a little sneaky! DSC_1102

Gluten Free Strawberry-Orange Chocolate cupcakes! DSC_1126

Little good, and a little evil.  DSC_1130

Greek Salad Skewers. DSC_1134 These are known as the Special. They have Italian Beef and local made Italian Sausage.

Iron Cupcake featured Booze as their secret ingredient for the month of October. I baked alone this time, and totally missed my partner in Erin, but took the theme a little seriously. Although she was on the sidelines because of work committments, Erin did give me a hand, by designing my costume! We had a lot of fun with the costume, and I had a lot of fun with the cupcake. I knew I wanted to do something different, and picked a unique liquor in Great Lakes Distillery’s Absinthe, and used it to give caramel apple pie a twist. I didn’t win, which is totally okay but I loved doing something a little different!

36040_521824698099_113800636_30903624_3592244_n 72225_521824902689_113800636_30903659_5981622_n

Again, these awesome pics are from Joe at Eating Milwaukee , as there has definitely been a lot of blogger meet ups lately. I’ve also had the awesome opportunity to meet many others from Milwaukee, including Rebecca at Cakewalk, Neil from Steam of Consciousness and many others I know I am forgetting! Who knows, there may be some fun stuff going with them in the future!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to

  1. lo says:

    I’m just heading over here to vouch for how delicious all of that food was! The Banned Books event wouldn’t have been the same without you… and those absinthe cupcakes were to die for (not to mention that AWESOME fairy house ala the Awesome Miss Erin!).

    So, you up for Banned Books next year? We’re going to be talking about dates in the next few weeks!

  2. Your cupcakes look yummy – I was so bummed to be out of town that weekend & miss it.

  3. Love the Green Fairy costume / makeup!

  4. biz319 says:

    You look beautiful Mel! :D So glad that you updated – I keep coming back seeing the September date as your last post :(

    Glad you are having a great time – just let me know if you’ll be able to come down for our blogger lunch in November :D

    Tell J I said Hi! :D

  5. Dan says:

    Awesome. I think I saw you at Gumbo Git Down, but didn’t introduce myself. Next time.

Leave a Reply

