Spicy Ginger Cookies…

I apologize for being absent this week, when I said last week it was going to be a crazy one, I wasn’t kidding. Hopefully, everything will have calmed down by this week! I finally went grocery shopping last night, the first time since before Thanksgiving. I went a little nuts and decided that we needed to use up some of our pantry and freezer. It worked, just in time for the Christmas sales!

Speaking of Christmas, every year my grandma and aunt take a weekend and bake what seems like a billion cookies for family and friends. My favorites are the chewy ginger cookies. I have the recipe buried somewhere, as it was out of the cookbook from the electric company, but it wasn’t appealing to me, since it was butter based. I don’t know what it is, but I didn’t feel like making that type of cookie. Thankfully, I found an oil based recipe on Baking Bites and as usual, made some adjustments.

cookies1

Spicy Ginger Cookies

Adapted from Baking Bites

1 1/2 c all purpose flour

1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour

1 tbsp ground ginger

2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1/2 tsp Chinese Five Spice powder

3/4 cup granulated sugar

2/3 cup vegetable oil

1 egg

1/4 cup molasses

1/2 cup chopped candied ginger (I omitted this)

1/4 cup coarse sugar, for rolling

Preheat oven to 350F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, spices, baking soda and salt.

In a large bowl, beat together sugar and vegetable oil. Beat in egg and molasses until smooth. Stir in flour mixture until well combined, then add in candied ginger.

Shape dough into 1 inch balls, roll in coarse sugar and place on baking sheet. Bake 8-10 minutes until very lightly browned.

Let cookies cool for 3-5 minutes on cookie sheet, then remove to a wire rack until cool.

037

I love the crackle on these!

034

These were amazing… I do have one suggestion, please use the freshest spices you have available. I’m partial to Penzey’s because their spices are super fresh (I love living within walking distance to their processing plant, it always smell so good when they are grinding spices!) I used their fresh ground black pepper, and it was the perfect addition, as it added just a touch of heat that hits you in the back of the throat. I will say, this recipe is so easy and good, that it might become a regular staple here, which probably isn’t too good for the waistline!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spicy Ginger Cookies…

  1. Kathleen says:

    These look wonderful. I’m printing up the recipe.

  2. biz319 says:

    Wow, congrats on getting by with your freezer and pantry these past weeks! Hopefully this week will be calmer for you!

    Love the crackle too! Growing up I hated ginger, now I love it!

    Happy Monday Mel! :D

  3. Wow those look great–I LOVE gingersnaps and might just have to vary from my usual recipe to try these! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

